The National Vietnam War Museum Each of us had a Vietnam experience  
About the Museum Museum Themes Support the Museum Home Museum Exhibits Multimedia Center News & Events Contact Us Gift Shop
The National Vietnam War Museum facebook page

About the Museum

Artist's concept of the National Vietnam War Museum

The National Vietnam War Museum project was formalized in 1998 to develop a national venue that would create an atmosphere of learning about the Vietnam War era, and engage people of all ages, nationalities, and political points of view.

In 1999, the museum was incorporated as a 501(c)(3) corporation in the State of Texas and the Board of Directors authorized the purchase of a 12-acre site on Hwy 180, just east of Mineral Wells, Texas, approximately 50 miles west of Fort Worth. In addition to establishing a Board of Directors, the museum established a Board of Visitors, prominent individuals selected to advise the Board of Directors and promote the museum's cause. The museum has also established sponsorship relationships with a number of local and national veterans' organizations for the purpose of promoting the museum to their memberships.

The museum will tell the unbiased story of the more than 5 million servicemen and servicewomen who served there; the civilian contractors who supported their efforts; the Vietnamese people, their culture and history; and those on the home front, both those who supported and those who protested the war.

Mission Statement
Museum Concepts
Museum Development
Frequently Asked Questions

Board of Directors

William Kane
Richard L. Gaurkee
Jim Messinger
Rowena Ash
Hayward Bellah, II
Charles S. Bogle
Angelo Spelios

Edward T. Luttenberger


Mike Myer

John Hyatt
Gerald Brazell
Choi Nguyen
H. Wayne Sanderson

Board of Visitors

John T. Chain, Jr. General (USAF - Ret) Adrian Cronauer
Former Armed Forces Vietnam DJ
The Honorable Craig Estes
Senator (R-TX 30th District)
Magne Hagen
Former Secretary to the King of Norway.
Victor J. Hugo
Major General (USA - Ret)
The Honorable Sam Johnson
Congressman (R-TX 3rd District) & Colonel (USAF-Ret) - Vietnam POW
John Knapp
Veterans of Foreign Wars
Michael A. Lindquist
Colonel (USA-Ret) - Executive Director, Congressional Medal Honor Society of the United States of America
Robert R. Ozier
CW4 (USA-Ret) - Vice Commander-in-Chief, The Military Order of the World Wars
James T. Spivey
Brigadier General (USAR-Ret) Former Assistant Chief of Chaplains, US Army Reserves
Nate C. Vail
Brigadier General (USA-Ret) - Representative - Fort Worth Chapter of The Military Order of the World Wars
The Honorable James Webb
Senator (D-VA), former Secretary of the Navy, USMC Vietnam Veteran - best-selling author, attorney
Michael E. Williams
Colonel (USMC-Ret)
Jim Young
Past Department Commander, Department of Texas, The American Legion

View Policies


Web Design by Chameleon Web Design